Writing Jobs

I am almost finished with chapter two. Progress comes in spurts–500 words one day, minus 45 the next–and I hope to develop a steadier pace. But one place I always get stuck and lose motivation is when the story takes me to my protagonist’s job.

So far I’ve glossed over what she does at work. I made her a nursing administrator–formerly a floor nurse–to give her regular hours that perhaps a floor nurse wouldn’t have. But I try to write her at her job and the scene falls flat. Ultimately I want her to regret leaving the front lines and feel stifled and restless in an office, so perhaps I should push forward. I’m just struggling to get interested; and if I’m not interested, what hope is there for my reader?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

